History of Zhukovsky Airport

Airport History

In 2008, as part of strategic objectives set forth in the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation “On National Aircraft Engineering Center”, it was decided to establish an airport in the Zhukovsky Urban District that presupposed a synergy of civil, state and experimental aviation.

Development of the International Airport in Zhukovsky initially involves obtaining a source of additional income from the airdrome operations for the Gromov Flight Research Institute, OJSC (Gromov LII, OJSC), which provides an opportunity to reduce the cost of flight hour for test flights and contributes to the development of experimental aviation, and also has a great impact on the region development, forms a center of business and investment activities, creates new jobs.

In accordance with the instructions of the Government of the Russian Federation, relevant Ministries, Agencies and Organizations, a range of priority measures has been determined, appropriate instructions were issued, and in 2013, the Transport and Exhibition Complex, OJSC (TVK, OJSC) (the Rostekh, State Corporation) announced an open tender for the right to enter into an investment agreement on the project performance, won by the Avia Solutions Group, International Aviation Holding Company.

In 2014, in order to create and develop the international airport on the Ramenskoye Airdrome territory, an agreement was signed between the companies on incorporation of a joint enterprise – RAMPORT AERO, OJSC, and in early 2015, the RAMPORT AERO, OJSC set up construction of the first passenger terminal, at the same time the processes for establishment of all necessary services and obtaining the appropriate permit documentation have been started.


In March 2016, the Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation D. A. Medvedev signed a Decree on opening the Ramenskoye Airport for international flights and establishing the air cargo and passenger permanent multilateral Border Inspection Post of the Russian Federation therein.

On May 30, 2016, after only 13 months from the project performance has started, the grand opening of the International Airport in Zhukovsky took place with the participation of the Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation D. A. Medvedev, Heads of Ministries and Agencies, Airlines, Corporations and the Media.

At the Airport inauguration, the RAMPORT AERO, OJSC entered into an agreement on incorporation of a joint venture for the construction and management of the cargo terminal, as well as cooperation agreements on airport and airdrome services with the Skat, Kazakhstan Airlines, the Air Kyrgyzstan, Kyrgyz Airlines and two cargo airlines - the Aviastar-TU and the Sky Gates Airlines.

Transport Accessibility Today

For the total time of 1 hour and 15 minutes, passengers can get from Moscow to Zhukovsky either by car (taxi) or by electric trains from the Kazansky railway station terminating at the Otdykh railway station, where they are provided with regular bus routes to the terminal. Or it takes 40-45 minutes, from the Kotelniki metro station – by “non-stop” shuttle buses.

In perspective

The RAMPORT AERO, OJSC will continue the further development of the airport complex. By 2020, the terminal capacity will reach – 12 million passengers per year. A hotel, shopping and office centers, etc. will appear on the territory of the passenger terminal complex.

In the fall of 2016, the Russian Railways, OJSC (RZhD, OJSC) completed the construction of the platform for arrivals of suburban luxurious trains of Sputnik type, which allows reducing the travel time from the Kazansky railway station to the Otdykh station and then by the shuttle bus to the airport from 1 hour and 15 minutes to 55 minutes. Reconstruction of M-5 “Ural” Automobile Road in the area bypassing Oktyabrsky Village will reduce the travel time from the capital to the airport from 45-80 minutes to 23-40 minutes depending on traffic conditions.

История аэропорта

Предпосылки к созданию

В 2008 году в рамках реализации стратегических задач, заложенных в указе Президента РФ «О национальном центре авиастроения», было принято решение о создании в г.о.Жуковский аэропорта, что предполагало синергию гражданской, государственной и экспериментальной авиации.

Развитие Международного аэропорта в Жуковском изначально предполагает получение источника дополнительного дохода от аэродромной деятельности для ОАО «ЛИИ им.М.М. Громова», что позволяет снизить стоимость летного часа испытательных полетов и способствует развитию экспериментальной авиации, а также дает существенный импульс развитию региона, формирует центр деловой и инвестиционной активности, создает новые рабочие места.

В соответствии с поручениями Правительства РФ, профильных Министерств, ведомств и организаций, был определен круг первоочередных мероприятий, даны соответствующие указания и в 2013 году ОАО «ТВК «Россия» (ГК «Ростех») объявило открытый конкурс на право заключения инвестиционного договора по реализации проекта, победителем которого стал международный авиационный холдинг Avia Solutions Group.

В 2014 году для создания и развития на территории аэродрома Жуковский международного аэропорта между компаниями было подписано соглашение об учреждении совместного предприятия - ОАО «РАМПОРТ АЭРО», а в начале 2015 года ОАО «РАМПОРТ АЭРО» начало строительство первого пассажирского терминала, одновременно были запущены процедуры по созданию всех необходимых служб и получению соответствующей разрешительной документации.

Настоящее время

В марте 2016 года Председатель Правительства РФ Д.А. Медведев подписал Распоряжение об открытии аэропорта Жуковский для международных полётов воздушных судов и установлении в нем воздушного грузо-пассажирского постоянного многостороннего пункта пропуска через государственную границу РФ.

30 мая 2016 года, спустя всего 13 месяцев с начала реализации проекта, состоялось торжественное открытие Международного аэропорта в Жуковском с участием Председателя Правительства РФ Д.А.Медведева, руководителей министерств и ведомств, авиакомпаний, корпораций и СМИ.

В рамках открытия аэропорта ОАО «РАМПОРТ АЭРО» заключило соглашение о создании совместного предприятия для строительства и управления грузовым терминалом, а также соглашения о сотрудничестве по аэропортовым и аэродромным услугам с казахстанской авиакомпаний Skat, киргизской авиакомпанией «Эйр Кыргызстан», грузовыми авиакомпаниями «Авиастар-ТУ» и «Авиакомпания «Скай Гейтс Эйрлайн».

Транспортная доступность сегодня

За 1 час 15 минут общего времени пассажиры могут добраться из Москвы до Жуковского, как на машине (такси), так и на электропоездах, следующих от Казанского вокзала до ж/д станции «Отдых», где для них предусмотрены регулярные автобусные рейсы к терминалу. Или за 40-45 мин от станции метро «Котельники» - на «безостановочных» шаттлах-автобусах.

В перспективе

ОАО «РАМПОРТ АЭРО» будет продолжено дальнейшее развитие аэропортового комплекса. К 2020 году пропускная способность терминалов достигнет - 12 млн пассажиров в год. На территории аэровокзального комплекса появится гостиница, торговый и офисный центры и пр.

Осенью 2016 года ОАО «РЖД» закончено строительство платформы для приема пригородных поездов повышенной комфортности типа «Спутник», что позволило сократить время в пути от Казанского вокзала до станции «Отдых» и далее шаттлом в аэропорт с 1 часа 15 минут до 55 минут. Реконструкция автомобильной дороги М-5 «Урал» на участке обхода поселка Октябрьский позволит сократить время в пути от столицы до аэропорта с 45–80 минут до 23-40 минут в зависимости от условий движения.